THE recently-concluded FIDE World Rapid and Blitz Championships in Doha was a big boost for the game in the region.

  • Karjakin leading the great Russian revival

    AFTER a brief lull, Russians are back in the reckoning. Sergey Karjakin, who stretched champion Magnus Carlsen at the classical FIDE World Championships in New York last December and won the blitz title in Doha recently, leads the way. 

  • ‘Drawing against Carlsen a good experience’

    RAPID and blitz event is totally different from the classical format due to its sheer unpredictability. A bad start can lead to complications in later rounds and can test the very best.


    INTERNATIONAL chess federation (FIDE) chief Kirsan Ilyumzhinov, who has been at its helm for long 21 years,..

  • Fast and flawless!

    RUSSIAN Grandmaster Sergey Karjakin was all smiles after he turned the tables on classical world champion Magnus Carlsen to win his maiden World Blitz Championship at the Ali bin Hamad Al Attiyah Arena in Doha last week. 

  • ‘I wasn’t good enough’

    World classical champion Magnus Carlsen had an unimpressive outing at the FIDE World Rapid and Blitz Championships, where he failed to defend his rapid title, finishing third, and came second in blitz.

  • Muzychuk bags a grand double

    Ukrainian Grandmaster Anna Muzychuk retained the blitz title in the women’s category and also annexed the rapid crown.

  • Ivanchuk rolls back the years

    AT 47, VASSILY Ivanchuk is one of the oldest players in the sport, but he showed how age has not at all slowed him down and how well he has adapted to the shorter version of the game by dethroning world champion Magnus Carlsen to win the rapid title last week.

  • Reem ready for the big job

    Qatar’s Reem Hani Ballan, one of the tournament officials at the World Rapid and Blitz Championships, hoped to get her International Arbiter (IA) norm soon. 

  • Mastermind

    INDIA’S first Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand, who won his maiden FIDE World Championship in 2000 and then ruled the sport from 2007 to 2013, is regarded as one of the best players in the game’s history.